• Home
  • People
  • Courtesy Faculty

Courtesy Faculty

Faculty members of our Department maintain a healthy interaction with other disciplines mostly through joint and courtesy appointments. Our Department is enriched in its research, teaching, and service by a host of faculty members budgeted to other departments but whose areas of academic interest are Africa and/or the African Diaspora.

Glenn Adams
Psychology
Africa (Ghana)
Associate Professor
785-864-9481
adamsg@ku.edu
Giselle Anatol
English
African-American and, Caribbean Literature
Associate Professor
785-864-2530
ganatol@ku.edu

Elizabeth Asiedu
Economics
International economics
Associate Professor
785-864-2843
asiedu@ku.edu

Tamara Baker
Psychology
Race, Health Disparities, Aging
Associate Professor
785-864-6528
tbakerthomas@ku.edu

Hannah Britton
Political Science/Women, Gender and Sexuality Studies
African Politics
Associate Professor
785-864-9016
britton@ku.edu

Chris Brown
Geography
African Geography
Associate Professor
785-864-5543
jcbrown2@ku.edu

Byron Caminero-Santangelo
English
African Literature
Associate Professor
785-864-4520
bsantang@ku.edu

Marta Caminero-Santangelo
English
Caribbean, Latin American Literature
Professor
785-864-2521
camsan@ku.edu

Darren Canady
English
Playwriting/ African-American Theatre
Associate Professor
785-864-3642
canady@ku.edu
Jerry Crawford
Journalism
Media
Assistant Professor
785-864-0603
jcrawford@ku.edu
Deborah Dandridge
Spencer Research Library
History
Associate Professor
785-864-2028
ddandrid@ku.edu
Jacob Dorman
History/American Studies
African-American History & Religion
Assistant Professor
785-864-9453
dorman@ku.edeu

Mohamed El-Hodiri
Economics
Arabic, Arab Culture
Professor
785-864-2838
elhodiri@ku.edu

Charles Epp
School of Public Affairs & Administration
Race, Law, and Citizenship
Professor
785-864-9087
chuckepp@ku.edu

Jane Gibson
Anthropology
African-American Identity
Associate Professor
785-864-2635
jwgc@ku.edu

Maryemma Graham
English
Anthropology
African-American Literature
Professor
785-864-2557
mgraham@ku.edu

Sandra Gray
African Anthropology
Associate Professor
785-864-2646
sjgray@ku.edu

Ayesha Hardison
English
Women, Gender & Sexuality Studies
Associate Professor
785-864-2310
hardison@ku.edu

Shirley Hill
Sociology
Family, Medical Systems, Social Inequality
Professor
785-864-9420
hill@ku.edu

Nicole Hodges-Persley
Theatre
Hip-Hop
Associate Professor
785-864-2820
hodgespersley@ku.edu

Yolanda Jackson
Human Development & Family Life
African - America
Associate Professor
785-864-3581
yjackson@ku.edu

Cheryl Lester
American Studies
20th-Century African-American Literature & Culture
Associate Professor
785-864-2503
chlester@ku.edu

Timothy Miller
Religious Studies
African-American Religion
Professor
785-864-7263
tkansas@ku.edu

Joane Nagel
Sociology
African, African-American
Distinguished Professor
785-864-4114
nagel@ku.edu

Mehrangiz Najafizadeh
Sociology
Social Inequality, Third World
Associate Professor
785-864-9421
najafizadeh@ku.edu

David Roediger
History
International & Interdisciplinary Studies - American Studies
Foundation Distinguished Professor
785-864-2309
droediger@ku.edu

Anton Rosenthal
History
African Labor History
Associate Professor
785-864-9475
surreal@ku.edu

John Rury
Education and History
Race and Education in American History
Professor of Education (ELPS) and (by courtesy) History
jrury@ku.edu

Robert C.Schwaller
History
African Diaspora in Latin America/ History of Race
Associate Professor
785-864-9435
schwallr@ku.edu
David Smith
Sociology
Africa
Professor
785-864-9417
emerald@ku.edu

John Edgar Tidwell
English
African-American Literature
Professor
785-864-2583
tidwelje@ku.edu

Antonio Luciano Tosta
Brazilian Literature and Culture
School of Languages, Literatures & Cultures
Associate Professor
785-864-1133
lucianotosta@ku.edu

Sherrie Tucker
American Studies
Jazz history, Race and Ethnicity
Associate Professor
785-864-2305
sjtucker@ku.edu

Kevin Willmott
Film & Media
African-American Film
Associate Professor
785-864-1350
willmott@ku.edu

Antje Ziether
French
Francophone Studies
Assistant Professor
785-864-9065
antje.ziethen@ku.edu
 

 





Follow us:
KU Today
One of 34 U.S. public institutions in the prestigious Association of American Universities
44 nationally ranked graduate programs.
—U.S. News & World Report
Top 50 nationwide for size of library collection.
—ALA
23rd nationwide for service to veterans —"Best for Vets," Military Times