Advising


Our Department is involved in the mission of the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences - to assist students in the development of educational plans, the clarification of career and life goals, and the appreciation of the values of a liberal arts education. Our system is one of shared responsibility in which all members of our Department and the College (faculty, students, and staff) interact to achieve advising goals and desired student outcomes.

Our goal in advising is to help each student reach his or her maximum educational potential. This goal is achieved by providing the student with the best possible academic advice, including the timely selection of an area of concentration, course work related to a chosen concentration, and other opportunities within and outside our Department.

Our Department collaborates with the Undergraduate Advising Center, College Advising & Student Services (CASS), and the College Office of Graduate Affairs (COGA) in matters of advising.

Here is a list of faculty advisors in our Department. Faculty advise in all areas, but we have listed their area(s) of specialty:

AdvisorDepartmentEmail
Shawn Leigh AlexanderAfrican American Studies & African Diasporashawnalexander@ku.edu
Tony BoldenAfrican American Studiestjbolden@ku.edu
Abel ChikandaAfrican Studiesachikanda@ku.edu
Amal El HaimeurArabic Language & Arabic & Islamic Studiesamalelhaimeur@ku.edu
Nicole Hodges PersleyAfrican American Studieshodgespersley@ku.edu
Jessica GerschultzAfrican Studies & Arabic & Islamic Studiesjgersch@ku.edu
Dorothy HinesAfrican American Studiesdhinesd@ku.edu
Randal JelksAfrican American Studies & African Diasporarmjelks@ku.edu
Elizabeth MacGonagleAfrican Studies & African Diasporamacgonag@ku.edu
Peter OjiamboAfrican Studies & African Languagesojiambo@ku.edu
Dorthy PenningtonAfrican American Studiesdpen@ku.edu
Kathryn RhineAfrican Studieskrhine@ku.edu
Peter UkpokoduAfrican Studies & African Diasporaukpokodu@ku.edu
James YekuAfrican Studies & Digital Humanitiesjyeku@ku.edu

These are advisors for the languages:

LanguageAdvisorEmail
Amharic:Amal El Haimeuramalelhaimeur@ku.edu
Arabic:Amal El Haimeuramalelhaimeur@ku.edu
Haitian Creole:Amal El Haimeuramalelhaimeur@ku.edu
Kiswahili:Peter Ojiambo & Amal El Haimeurojiambo@ku.edu
Somali:Amal El Haimeuramalelhaimeur@ku.edu
Wolof:Amal El Haimeuramalelhaimeur@ku.edu