Courtesy Faculty


Faculty members of our Department maintain a healthy interaction with other disciplines mostly through joint and courtesy appointments. Our Department is enriched in its research, teaching, and service by a host of faculty members budgeted to other departments but whose areas of academic interest are Africa and/or the African Diaspora.

Faculty Members

Glenn Adams
Psychology
Africa (Ghana)
Professor
785-864-9481
adamsg@ku.edu

Folashade B. Agusto
Ecology & Evolutionary Biology
Epidemiology, Public Health (Africa)
Associate Professor
fbagusto@ku.edu

Giselle Anatol
English
African-American and, Caribbean Literature
Professor
785-864-2530
ganatol@ku.edu

Hannah Britton
Political Science/Women, Gender and Sexuality Studies
African Politics
Professor
785-864-9016
britton@ku.edu

Chris Brown
Geography
African Geography
Professor
785-864-5543
jcbrown2@ku.edu

Marta Caminero-Santangelo
English
Caribbean, Latin American Literature
Professor
785-864-2521
camsan@ku.edu

Darren Canady
English
Playwriting/ African-American Theatre
Associate Professor
785-864-3642
canady@ku.edu

Jerry Crawford
Journalism
Media
Associate Professor
785-864-0603
jcrawford@ku.edu

Deborah Dandridge
Spencer Research Library
History
Associate Professor
785-864-2028
ddandrid@ku.edu

Brandon Davis
School of Public Affairs & Administration
Criminal Justice, Public Policy
Assistant Professor
davis_brandon@ku.edu

Charles Epp
School of Public Affairs & Administration
Race, Law, and Citizenship
Professor
785-864-9087
chuckepp@ku.edu

Nishani Frazier
American Studies - History
African-American History and Public History
Associate Professor
nmfrazier@ku.edu

Jane Gibson
Anthropology
African-American Identity
Associate Professor
785-864-2635
jwgc@ku.edu

Jason Glenn
KU Med
History and Philosophy of Medicine
Associate Professor
jglenn4@kumc.edu

Maryemma Graham
English
African-American Literature
Professor
785-864-2557
mgraham@ku.edu

Sandra Gray
African Anthropology
Associate Professor
785-864-2646
sjgray@ku.edu

Majid Hannoum
Anthropology
Professor
785-864-2650
ahannoum@ku.edu

Ayesha Hardison
English/Women, Gender & Sexuality Studies
20th & 21st Century African-American Literature
Associate Professor
785-864-2310
hardison@ku.edu

Yolanda Jackson
Human Development & Family Life
African-American
Professor
785-864-3581
yjackson@ku.edu

Joane Nagel
Sociology
African, African-American
Distinguished Professor
785-864-4114
nagel@ku.edu

Mehrangiz Najafizadeh
Sociology
Social Inequality, Third World
Associate Professor
785-864-9421
najafizadeh@ku.edu

Najarian Peters
Law
Associate Professor
785-864-2309
najarian.peters@ku.edu

David Roediger
History - American Studies
Foundation Distinguished Professor
785-864-2309
droediger@ku.edu

John Rury
School of Education
African American Education
Professor
785-864-9697
jrury@ku.edu

Robert C.Schwaller
History
African Diaspora in Latin America/ History of Race
Associate Professor
785-864-9435
schwallr@ku.edu

David Smith
Sociology
Africa
Professor
785-864-9417
emerald@ku.edu

Sharla Smith
KU Med
Population Health
Assistant Professor
ssmith37@kumc.edu

Antonio Luciano Tosta
Brazilian Literature and Culture
School of Languages, Literatures & Cultures
Associate Professor
785-864-1133
lucianotosta@ku.edu

Sherrie Tucker
American Studies
Jazz history, Race and Ethnicity
Professor
785-864-2305
sjtucker@ku.edu

Kevin Willmott
Film & Media
African-American Film
Professor
785-864-1350
willmott@ku.edu